RULE: Spike Marks on Green

The one Rule of Golf most Professional Golfers would love to change if they were able is to press down spike marks on the line of putt on the green. You are allowed to move loose impediments, repair old hole plugs or ball pitch marks and remove sand on the green –so ...
# Can I press down a spike mark on my line of putt?
#  Can a mate do it for me?
#  What if he stands on my line and damages my line when he gets his ball from the hole? 

Rule 16 (The Putting Green) says you “may not touch the line of putt except:

·      You may remove loose impediments provided you do not press anything down;
·      You may place your club in front of the ball when addressing it, provided you do not press anything down;
·      In measuring;
·      In lifting or replacing your ball;
·      In pressing down a ball marker;
·      In repairing old hole plugs or ball marks on the putting green; and
·      In removing movable obstructions.”

OK- there is a tuft of grass sticking up on your line of putt – so you cannot press it down without incurring a penalty under Rule 16-1 (2 strokes).

But a fellow competitor has putted out – can he press the tuft down for me? I often see this done – “I have finished the hole – I can fix it for you.”

No - very naughty! If he purposely improves your line of putt by repairing spike damage, the fellow competitor is penalized under Rule 1-2 (“A player or caddie must not take any action to influence the position or movement of a ball except in accordance with Rules.”) Penalty 2 strokes!

But here is the big sting – if you allowed him to do this, tacitly or otherwise, you too are penalized 2 strokes under Rule 13-2. This Rule says, in part, you must not improve, or allow to be improved, your line of play.

Hang on – what if he is a real mongrel and purposely stands on your line and creates some spike marks. Or probably more realistically, what if a fellow competitor accidentally stands on your line and creates some tufts on your line?

Fortunately, there is no penalty.  Rule 1-2 does not apply in these circumstances. A player is entitled to the lie and line of putt he had when his ball came to rest. So the line of put can be restored by anyone.

In summary:

You can’t repair a spike mark on your line of putt.
A fellow competitor can’t repair a spike mark on your line of putt, unless the damage was created AFTER your ball came to rest on the green.

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »