Rule: Abnormal Course Conditions

 Guess we have our fair share of abnormal course conditions after weather events, and probably even more interpretations of this definition from what I am told!!

But what is'abnormal course conditions'? Is it the same as GUR?

The definition of “an abnormal course condition: an animal hole, ground under repair, an immovable obstruction or temporary water"

The definition does not include muddy ground, long grass, or stony ground—unless marked by a white line as GUR or stated in a local rule.

Temporary water” is any temporary accumulation of water on the surface of the ground (such as puddles from rain or irrigation or an overflow from a body of water that is not in a penalty area, and can be seen before or after you take your stance (without pressing down excessively with your feet). An accumulation of water must remain present either before or after you take your stance. A ball is in casual water when it lies in or any part of it touches the temporary water.

We have covered sections of Rule16 previously under GUR on the green, casual water, washouts and temporary water in bunkers, and ball on formed pathways. Check out our website under GOLF.

IS soft, mushy earth temporary water? No, not unless water is visible on the surface before or after you take your stance.

I press down hard with my foot until water appears on my sole—is this temporary  water? No, this is not temporary water. You must take your stance normally.

What is the status of grass cuttings? If they have been piled for later removal, they are GUR and you are entitled to free relief. Grass cuttings are simply loose impediments and may be removed (but don’t accidently move your ball!)

There are currently many wheel ruts made by mowers—can I get free relief from them? Yes, under our local rules on the back of our score card.

Is an aeration hole on the green a hole made by the green keeper GUR? No—no relief.

.
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 16 Feb 2020

    MyGolf Pre Qld Open for Juniors

    Our Juniors competed at Pelican Waters in the Queensland Junior Open prelude. Read on for details and photos supplied by Darrell.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »