RULE: Washout in the Bunkers

After any heavy downpours of rain we have, you are more likely to encounter a washout in a bunker. If so, how do I get out of it? 

Our local rules state that a bunker washout us an abnormal course condition. So Rule 16.1c cover this.

If your ball lands in a bunker, the nearest point of complete relief is outside the bunker. So, can I drop free of penalty outside the bunker?

 Good try! To obtain free relief from a washout in the bunker, you must determine the nearest point of complete relief IN the BUNKER, no nearer the hole and drop within one club length of that point in the bunker. If there is "no such nearest point of complete relief in the bunker", you then have to obtain relief "by using the point of maximum available relief in the bunker as the reference point".

In this image, both right and left hand golfers could obtain relief if your ball is at A. 

However, at point B, only right handers are affected by the washout (rule 16 says: “interference occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or his intended area of swing”).

Bad luck Gary - there is no interference by the washout for left handers. Play it as it lies!

Now, is there any way I can drop out of this bunker when the washout causes interference? Yes -  rule 16.1c(2) goes on to say that in a bunker the player can lift the ball and drop the ball, under penalty of one stroke outside the bunker keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.

The same rule can be applied if your ball lies in temporary water in the bunker, which is also classified as ‘abnormal course conditions’!

  • LADIES CHAMPIONS 2019

    After four championship rounds of have been completed, we have some winners!


    Read more »
  • PETER LOST HIS BALL - AGAIN

    Peter might be worth a quid or two, and he can afford plenty of golf balls. But he HATES the two stroke penalty for a lost ball! So he goes to any length to retrieve his ball to avoid being punished, stroke wise! Have a look at what he did just last week in a search for his golf ball.


    Read more »
  • 23 Jul 2019

    GREENS UPDATE

    Yahoo - we have had some consistent clear weather. What did that mean for our greens staff?


    Read more »
  • A PAIR OF ACES?

    Paul Lutze had a pair of aces just recently! How did he achieve this feat?


    Read more »
  • 22 Jun 2019

    VETS MATCH PLAY

    Nambour Veteran Golfers were represented in both the A grade and B grade categories of the District Team Match Play event held at Gympie Golf Club on June 20.

    So, how did we fare? 


    Read more »
  • 2019 CHAMPIONSHIPS DECIDED

    Jake Crowther was a run-away winner in the quest for the Club Champion title, but how about all the other prizes?


    Read more »
  • WEDNESDAY CHAMPIONSHIPS FINALISED

    Finally, after a postponement of 5 weeks, the final round of the Men’s Wednesday Club Championship was played. Congratulations to these winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 May 2019

    MIXED FOURSOMES

    Mixed Foursomes was conducted on Saturday 11/05, this year over 27 holes. Check out the winners and other results here.results


    Read more »
  • ALBATROSS

    We get excited when scoring a birdie. How would you feel when you shoot an albatross? What about two?

    Peter has just fired his second! Find out more. 


    Read more »
  • 23 Jan 2019

    GOLFERS on FIRE

    Two of our senior golfers are on fire, and this has nothing to do with the current high temperatures!

    - one man has won Mug of Mugs, and a lady member took out the Medal of Medals

    - the other man shot his age!

    You will have to read on to get the details! 


    Read more »