RULE: Washout in the Bunkers

After any heavy downpours of rain we have, you are more likely to encounter a washout in a bunker. If so, how do I get out of it? 

Our local rules state that a bunker washout us an abnormal course condition. So Rule 16.1c cover this.

If your ball lands in a bunker, the nearest point of complete relief is outside the bunker. So, can I drop free of penalty outside the bunker?

 Good try! To obtain free relief from a washout in the bunker, you must determine the nearest point of complete relief IN the BUNKER, no nearer the hole and drop within one club length of that point in the bunker. If there is "no such nearest point of complete relief in the bunker", you then have to obtain relief "by using the point of maximum available relief in the bunker as the reference point".

In this image, both right and left hand golfers could obtain relief if your ball is at A. 

However, at point B, only right handers are affected by the washout (rule 16 says: “interference occurs when a ball lies in or touches the condition or when the condition interferes with the player’s stance or his intended area of swing”).

Bad luck Gary - there is no interference by the washout for left handers. Play it as it lies!

Now, is there any way I can drop out of this bunker when the washout causes interference? Yes -  rule 16.1c(2) goes on to say that in a bunker the player can lift the ball and drop the ball, under penalty of one stroke outside the bunker keeping the point where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.

The same rule can be applied if your ball lies in temporary water in the bunker, which is also classified as ‘abnormal course conditions’!

  • 11 Sep 2021

    LADIES CANCER CHARITY DAY

    The Nambour Ladies’ Cancer Charity Day on Saturday 11th September was once again a great success. We had 166 players in the field & Andys’ pink ribbon on the 3rd fairway spurred us all on. We thank all the players who participated & Steve, Nigel & Kynan for getting us all away. Our sponsors were amazingly generous & are too numerous to mention but include Australian Garage Supermarket, Win Television, Twin Waters Golf Club, Noosa Springs Golf Club & Cafe Gingers.


    Read more »
  • VALE JIM LORD

    Vale: Jim Lord. Help celebrate Jim's life this Friday. Read on for details.


    Read more »
  • 3 Sep 2021

    LADIES CHAMPIONSHIPS

    The Nambour Ladies concluded their annual Championships on Thursday 2nd September after a 2 week delay caused by covid restrictions.

    Let's see who were winners. 


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2021

    WELCOME NEW SPONSOR

    Nambour Golf Club welcomes another new sponsor on board.


    Read more »
  • 26 Jun 2021

    MIXED FOURSOMES

    Rain, rain, go away - and it stayed away until all 12 pairs had completed their rounds of this year's Championships sponsored by Del Scott.

    Who prevailed, and who picked up the other prizes? 


    Read more »
  • 9 Jun 2021

    SUPERINTENDENT ACES

    You would think that the Greens Superintendent would have had a number of aces, as he knows every little feature of our greens, and where the hole has been placed for the day. But Andy was truly excited about this ace.


    Read more »
  • 8 May 2021

    Viv's First Ace

    Viv Lawson had his first Ace at Nambour Golf Club.


    Read more »
  • 27 Apr 2021

    GRAB A BITE TO EAT


    Read more »
  • 8 Dec 2020

    LADIES GOLF BREAKUP

    Nambour Ladies Christmas breakup was held on Thursday 26th November. Entertainment provided by Gail & Jo. Never easy with a tough crowd. Congratulations to all the winners. New member Kristine Dinnerville won Best Handicap Reduction, 9 shots this year, well done Kristine. Merry Christmas to all our ladies & members.

    Read on to see photos of the frivolities 
    Gail Campling
    President
    Nambour Ladies Golf Club


    Read more »
  • 24 Oct 2020

    KEN J MARTIN ACES AGAIN

    No need for the putter in this hole, where Ken had his second ace!


    Read more »