RULE: Touching Sand in the Bunker

We all know you cannot ground your club in the bunker. But what about

     - touching the sand in the bunker with your club during the backswing??

     - leaning on your club resting in the sand while you wait to play?? 

Answer to question 1. When you are playing a shot in a bunker you accidentally touch the sand while making your backswing. What is the ruling?

Unfortunately you are in breach of Rule 12-2b when you touch the ground in the bunker with your club before making your stroke. General penalty of 2 strokes! But ... isn't my back swing part of the stroke?

No, definitions tell us that "a stroke is the forward movement of your club made to strike the ball..."

Before making a stroke at your ball in a bunker, you must not:

  • touch the sand in the bunker with your club:
      >> in the area right in front of or right behind your ball (except as allowed in fairly searching for your ball or in removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction)
      >> In making a practice swing, or
      >> In making your backswing for a stroke
Damn. 

I suppose it makes sense, because if your had a chance, you could sweep your club back and make a nice clean and even lie for your ball in the bunker, especially if it was in the position in the illustration! Now that would not be fair!

Answer to question 2. Your mate, whose ball lies in a bunker casually leans on his club in the bunker  while he waits for you to play your shot. Can he do that?

Well, physically I guess so. AND as far as the Rules of Golf go, Rule 12-2b(2) exception does allow you to lean on a club to rest, stay balanced or prevent a fall

BUT, you will get the general penalty "if your actions in touching the sand improve the conditions affecting your stroke".

  • 11 Sep 2021

    LADIES CANCER CHARITY DAY

    The Nambour Ladies’ Cancer Charity Day on Saturday 11th September was once again a great success. We had 166 players in the field & Andys’ pink ribbon on the 3rd fairway spurred us all on. We thank all the players who participated & Steve, Nigel & Kynan for getting us all away. Our sponsors were amazingly generous & are too numerous to mention but include Australian Garage Supermarket, Win Television, Twin Waters Golf Club, Noosa Springs Golf Club & Cafe Gingers.


    Read more »
  • VALE JIM LORD

    Vale: Jim Lord. Help celebrate Jim's life this Friday. Read on for details.


    Read more »
  • 3 Sep 2021

    LADIES CHAMPIONSHIPS

    The Nambour Ladies concluded their annual Championships on Thursday 2nd September after a 2 week delay caused by covid restrictions.

    Let's see who were winners. 


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2021

    WELCOME NEW SPONSOR

    Nambour Golf Club welcomes another new sponsor on board.


    Read more »
  • 26 Jun 2021

    MIXED FOURSOMES

    Rain, rain, go away - and it stayed away until all 12 pairs had completed their rounds of this year's Championships sponsored by Del Scott.

    Who prevailed, and who picked up the other prizes? 


    Read more »
  • 9 Jun 2021

    SUPERINTENDENT ACES

    You would think that the Greens Superintendent would have had a number of aces, as he knows every little feature of our greens, and where the hole has been placed for the day. But Andy was truly excited about this ace.


    Read more »
  • 8 May 2021

    Viv's First Ace

    Viv Lawson had his first Ace at Nambour Golf Club.


    Read more »
  • 27 Apr 2021

    GRAB A BITE TO EAT


    Read more »
  • 8 Dec 2020

    LADIES GOLF BREAKUP

    Nambour Ladies Christmas breakup was held on Thursday 26th November. Entertainment provided by Gail & Jo. Never easy with a tough crowd. Congratulations to all the winners. New member Kristine Dinnerville won Best Handicap Reduction, 9 shots this year, well done Kristine. Merry Christmas to all our ladies & members.

    Read on to see photos of the frivolities 
    Gail Campling
    President
    Nambour Ladies Golf Club


    Read more »
  • 24 Oct 2020

    KEN J MARTIN ACES AGAIN

    No need for the putter in this hole, where Ken had his second ace!


    Read more »