RULE: Touching Sand in the Bunker

We all know you cannot ground your club in the bunker. But what about

     - touching the sand in the bunker with your club during the backswing??

     - leaning on your club resting in the sand while you wait to play?? 

Answer to question 1. When you are playing a shot in a bunker you accidentally touch the sand while making your backswing. What is the ruling?

Unfortunately you are in breach of Rule 12-2b when you touch the ground in the bunker with your club before making your stroke. General penalty of 2 strokes! But ... isn't my back swing part of the stroke?

No, definitions tell us that "a stroke is the forward movement of your club made to strike the ball..."

Before making a stroke at your ball in a bunker, you must not:

  • touch the sand in the bunker with your club:
      >> in the area right in front of or right behind your ball (except as allowed in fairly searching for your ball or in removing a loose impediment or movable obstruction)
      >> In making a practice swing, or
      >> In making your backswing for a stroke
Damn. 

I suppose it makes sense, because if your had a chance, you could sweep your club back and make a nice clean and even lie for your ball in the bunker, especially if it was in the position in the illustration! Now that would not be fair!

Answer to question 2. Your mate, whose ball lies in a bunker casually leans on his club in the bunker  while he waits for you to play your shot. Can he do that?

Well, physically I guess so. AND as far as the Rules of Golf go, Rule 12-2b(2) exception does allow you to lean on a club to rest, stay balanced or prevent a fall

BUT, you will get the general penalty "if your actions in touching the sand improve the conditions affecting your stroke".

  • 28 Feb 2020

    BEER DAMAGES MOWERS

    Charles has been finding these little blighters around our course. Might bring pleasure to players, but not good for our mowers!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »