RULE: The Teeing Ground

Can I:
  - move the tee marker if it is in my way?
  - stand outside the tee box to hit my tee shot?
  - what happens if my ball falls off the tee during my backswing?
  - hit my tee shot with the ball teed outside the markers?

Rule 6 covers the rules about the teeing ground.

The teeing ground is the starting place for the hole to be played. It is a rectangular area two club lengths in depth. The front and sides are defined by the outside limits of two tee markers. A ball is outside the teeing ground when all of it lies outside the teeing ground. Your ball is in the teeing area when any part of the ball touches or is above any part of the teeing area.

Q. I want to tee up my ball as far to the side of the tee box as I can - but the plastic marker is in my way. What happens if I shift it to make my tee shot?

A. The tee markers are deemed to be fixed - but only for your first shot on the teeing ground of the hole you are playing. So in teeing off, you cannot move the tee markers. (General Penalty for breach is 2 strokes or loss of hole in match play.)

However .... you suffer the ignominy of swiping the ball so it just trickles from the tee and now the tee marker interferes with your stance or swing - now the marker is an obstruction. Relief as per the Movable Obstruction rule (Rule 15.2a). On our course, the markers are movable - but don't forget to replace the tee marker exactly.

Similarly, for example, your second shot to our ninth green finishes on the first tee, behind the tee marker, and it interferes with your shot. So you may move this marker as it is a movable obstruction.

(It is also notable that the Hole Number sign lies in my line, but doesn't interfere with my swing or stance - so no relief is available!)

(I have heard of a player who did not agree with the placement of the tee markers - in his view they were too close together, or aimed off line, or too far back, or some similar reason - so he moved them and hit off, leaving the tee marker in a new position. PENALTY - DISQUALIFICATION!)

Q. There is plenty of room on the teeing mound, but the markers are not utilising the full area. Can I place my ball near the marker, and stand outside the teeing ground to hit the ball?

A. Yes, a player may stand outside the teeing ground to play a ball within it.

Q. The ball tumbles off the tee just as I commence my backswing, so I stop my shot. Is there a penalty because the ball moved?

A. Short answer is NO. Replace the ball on the tee and tee off.

The ball is in play as soon as you have made a stroke on the teeing ground. A stroke is the forward movement of the club with the intention of striking at and moving the ball. As you have not made a stroke at the ball, there is no penalty.

If the ball falls from the tee, and you continue to make a stroke, that stroke counts, but there is no penalty (just embarrassment)! Remember to play the ball as it lies - do not sit it up on a tee again!

Q. I have teed off my first shot on a hole, and then notice (or are told) that I have teed my ball outside the teeing ground (tee box). Now what happens?

A. Depends on what type of play you are competing in, and on what you do as soon as you discover your mistake.

  • In stroke play, you incur the general penalty of 2 strokes, and you MUST play a ball from within the teeing ground. If you make a stroke from the next teeing ground before you correct your mistake (or leave the putting green of the final hole of the round), you are DISQUALIFIED. The stroke you make from outside the teeing ground and any subsequent strokes taken prior to your correction do not count in your score.
  • In match play, there is no penalty, but your opponent may immediately ask you to cancel the shot and play a ball from within the teeing ground. (If it was a great shot, a safe bet is the cancel call!)

 Q. I have seen a player build a little mound by hitting the turf with his clubhead, and then sitting the ball on top of this mound. Isn't that a penalty for "improving the lie" of his ball?

A. Yes it is any where on the course, except on the teeing ground when you are putting the ball into play.  You can also flatten any irregularities on the teeing ground (no, not with a bobcat!) or remove an offending tuft of grass without penalty - BUT only on the teeing ground for your first shot on each hole.

  • 6 May 2020

    RARITY LATELY

    The Hole in One frequency has dropped significantly this year - surely nothing to do with Covid 19!

    But Steve Dowsett has managed (another) one - when, which hole? Read on for those details!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »