RULE: Temporary Obstruction in a Bunker

A local rule can provide relief from the temporary wall as we had on the 8th bunker damaged by vandals.

When can I get relief?  Is there any penalty if I take relief? Where can I drop my ball within this rule? Can I get line of sight relief if I play my ball from outside the bunker?

Morgan wonders which ball/s Jake will agree can obtain relief under the local rule invoked to take account of the temporary wall in the bunker.

 

The obstruction rule provides relief from an obstruction which interferes with your swing or your stance. This local rule also extends relief under this circumstance to your ball in the bunker if the obstruction also interferes with your line of sight.

NB - this relief only applies to this obstruction - not any other obstruction on the course!!

So, which ball/s is Jake prepared to allow relief from the temporary wall??

NO to Ball A. The temporary wall does not interfere with his stance nor his area of intended swing. Nor does the wall lie in his line of sight to the green

YES to  Ball B as it will interfere with Morgan's swing, and as well, the ball lies on the line from ball to flag.

YES to Ball C too, as the obstruction is on his line of sight to the flag.

Now the next question is - where can I drop the ball if it is legal to get relief??

The guiding principle is "nearest point of relief" - that point which avoids interference with

  • your area of intended swing; or
  • your stance (your normal stance for this shot - not an unnecessarily abnormal stance);
  • line of sight - a line between your ball and the flag.

Now you have two choices - do you want a free drop or are you prepared to take a penalty?

1. FREE drop - you may drop within one club length of the nearest point of relief IN THE BUNKER. Yes, you must drop, not place!

 

2. If you want out of the bunker, you can do so but MUST take a one stroke penalty. AND you MUST keep the point where the ball lay in the bunker directly between the hole and the spot where you will drop the ball, with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball can be dropped.

Now, if you choose 2, do you get line of sight relief from the temporary wall? No - this only applies if your ball is in the bunker!

Best solution - avoid the bunker; hit the green from the tee!!

 

 

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »