RULE: Taking Advice - what iron did you hit?

Ever been asked what club you used to hit into the three par? Or for that matter, from anywhere on the course?

Isn’t that against the Rules of Golf about giving advice??
 Depends - when were you asked?

But first, what is advice? Advice, according to the definitions, “Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence you or another player in choosing a club, making a stroke, or deciding how to play during a hole or round. But advice does not include public information such as the location of things on the course, the distance from one point to another, or the rules”

Info about rules, distances, location of a hazard, flagstick or the green is considered public information, so is not advice.

Back to your question. If you have hit, and then I ask before I hit, that is considered an attempt to influence my choice of club  - general penalty( two strokes) for me (loss of hole in match play).

Now, what if you answer my request for "advice" about the club you hit? You too will be penalized if you provide that advice.

However, if we have both played the shot, and then I asked which club, there was no advice sought or given.

The rule provides for penalty of two strokes for ‘giving’ advice, or ‘asking’ for advice!

Rule 10-2 ADVICE

During a stipulated round, you must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course; or
  • ask anyone for advice from anyone other your caddie;
  • touch another player's equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player. 

Line of play is another form of advice. You may have another person indicate the line to the flag (usually when you are hitting blind to the green), but that person cannot stay on or near that line while you make the shot. The same applies to any mark placed by you or another person - it must be removed before the stroke is played.
  • LADIES CHAMPIONS 2019

    After four championship rounds of have been completed, we have some winners!


    Read more »
  • PETER LOST HIS BALL - AGAIN

    Peter might be worth a quid or two, and he can afford plenty of golf balls. But he HATES the two stroke penalty for a lost ball! So he goes to any length to retrieve his ball to avoid being punished, stroke wise! Have a look at what he did just last week in a search for his golf ball.


    Read more »
  • 23 Jul 2019

    GREENS UPDATE

    Yahoo - we have had some consistent clear weather. What did that mean for our greens staff?


    Read more »
  • A PAIR OF ACES?

    Paul Lutze had a pair of aces just recently! How did he achieve this feat?


    Read more »
  • 22 Jun 2019

    VETS MATCH PLAY

    Nambour Veteran Golfers were represented in both the A grade and B grade categories of the District Team Match Play event held at Gympie Golf Club on June 20.

    So, how did we fare? 


    Read more »
  • 2019 CHAMPIONSHIPS DECIDED

    Jake Crowther was a run-away winner in the quest for the Club Champion title, but how about all the other prizes?


    Read more »
  • WEDNESDAY CHAMPIONSHIPS FINALISED

    Finally, after a postponement of 5 weeks, the final round of the Men’s Wednesday Club Championship was played. Congratulations to these winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 May 2019

    MIXED FOURSOMES

    Mixed Foursomes was conducted on Saturday 11/05, this year over 27 holes. Check out the winners and other results here.results


    Read more »
  • ALBATROSS

    We get excited when scoring a birdie. How would you feel when you shoot an albatross? What about two?

    Peter has just fired his second! Find out more. 


    Read more »
  • 23 Jan 2019

    GOLFERS on FIRE

    Two of our senior golfers are on fire, and this has nothing to do with the current high temperatures!

    - one man has won Mug of Mugs, and a lady member took out the Medal of Medals

    - the other man shot his age!

    You will have to read on to get the details! 


    Read more »