RULE: Taking Advice - what iron did you hit?

Ever been asked what club you used to hit into the three par? Or for that matter, from anywhere on the course?

Isn’t that against the Rules of Golf about giving advice??
 Depends - when were you asked?

But first, what is advice? Advice, according to the definitions, “Any verbal comment or action (such as showing what club was just used to make a stroke) that is intended to influence you or another player in choosing a club, making a stroke, or deciding how to play during a hole or round. But advice does not include public information such as the location of things on the course, the distance from one point to another, or the rules”

Info about rules, distances, location of a hazard, flagstick or the green is considered public information, so is not advice.

Back to your question. If you have hit, and then I ask before I hit, that is considered an attempt to influence my choice of club  - general penalty( two strokes) for me (loss of hole in match play).

Now, what if you answer my request for "advice" about the club you hit? You too will be penalized if you provide that advice.

However, if we have both played the shot, and then I asked which club, there was no advice sought or given.

The rule provides for penalty of two strokes for ‘giving’ advice, or ‘asking’ for advice!

Rule 10-2 ADVICE

During a stipulated round, you must not:

  • Give advice to anyone in the competition playing on the course; or
  • ask anyone for advice from anyone other your caddie;
  • touch another player's equipment to learn information that would be advice if given by or asked of the other player. 

Line of play is another form of advice. You may have another person indicate the line to the flag (usually when you are hitting blind to the green), but that person cannot stay on or near that line while you make the shot. The same applies to any mark placed by you or another person - it must be removed before the stroke is played.
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »
  • 7 Oct 2019

    CANCER CHARITY DAY

    Nambour Ladies ran a fund raising event recently in support of finding a cure for cancer .


    Read more »
  • 3 Oct 2019

    LADIES MONTHLY MEDAL FINAL

    Who were the winners in the Ladies' Monthly Medal Finals?


    Read more »
  • 30 Sep 2019

    DISTRICT AMBROSE CHAMPIONSHIP

    A 12 man Vets squad that travelled to Tin Can Bay on Friday 4th October to represent Nambour GC at the District 4 person Ambrose Championship

    Who was in the team? How did we go? Check this out!


    Read more »