RULE: Taking a Drop to Get Relief!

With any inclement weather we may have, I might need to take a few 'drops' from some pretty nasty lies, from which the rules say I can get relief . But where do I drop? Under what conditions do I legally obtain relief? What is 'nearest point of relief'? What is 'interference'? 

Nearest point of relief – what is it?? With the extremes of weather we occasionally experienece, the need to take relief from abnormal course conditions has certainly highlighted some weird and wonderful (member) definitions of NPOCR!

 Definitions in the Rules Book, tells us that the nearest point of complete relief is "your reference point for taking free relief without penalty from interference by an abnormal course, dangerous animal condition, a wrong putting green, or no play zone."

It is the estimated point where your ball would lie that is: 

  • nearest to your ball's original spot, but not nearer the hole than that spot,
  • in the required area of the course, and
  • where the condition doea not interferre with the stroke you would have made from the original spot if the condition was not there.

NOTE: Estimating this reference point requires you to identify the choice of club, stance, swing and line of play you would have used for that stroke."

But what is “interference” from a condition where relief is allowed? An immovable obstruction or abnormal course condition  eg. GUR or temporary water interferes “when a ball lies in or on the obstruction or abnormal course condition, or when the obstruction abnormal course condition interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing. Intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this rule.”  However, if your ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an abnormal course condition on the green intervenes on your line of putt.

So, how should this NPOR be determined?

When your ball is on the fairway or the rough:

· Take your stance as if playing the shot and hold your club that you would use if the problem area was not there.

· Swing that club and determine the nearest point from where you could hit the ball without interference to your swing or stance by the problem area (not nearer hole, in penalty area or on putting green).

· The point where a ball would lie in that swing is the NPOCR. Now the one club length measurement can be measured from that point, with any club (usually your driver).

 For a right hander - no relief for ball A. There is no interference with your stance or your intended area of swing.

However ball B does suffer interference with stance and area of swing. As the 100 metre post is an immovable obstruction, relief is available under this rule. The yellow peg is the point which affords relief from the post, is not nearer the hole than B. The rule then allows you a drop within 1 club length of this spot (red tee). The relief area for a legal drop would be a sector of a circle one club length from the yellow tee (eg. light green area).

  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »