RULE: Taking a Drop to Get Relief!

With any inclement weather we may have, I might need to take a few 'drops' from some pretty nasty lies, from which the rules say I can get relief . But where do I drop? Under what conditions do I legally obtain relief? What is 'nearest point of relief'? What is 'interference'? 

Nearest point of relief – what is it?? With the extremes of weather we have been having lately, the need to take relief from abnormal ground conditions has certainly highlighted some weird and wonderful (member) definitions of NPOR!

 Definitions in the Rules Book, tells us that it “is the reference point for taking relief without penalty from interference by an immovable obstruction, an abnormal ground condition or a wrong putting green.

It is the point on the course nearest to where the ball lies: 

  • that is not nearer the hole, and
  • where, if the ball were so positioned, no interference by the condition from which relief is sought would exist for the stroke the player would have made from the original position if the condition were not there.

NOTE: In order to determine the nearest point of relief accurately, the player should use the club with which hew would have made the next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke.” (p37 of Rules of Golf)

But what is “interference” from a relief condition? An immovable obstruction or abnormal ground condition (agc) eg. GUR or casual water interferes “when a ball lies in or on the obstruction/agc, or when the obstruction/agc interferes with the player’s stance or the area of his intended swing. Intervention on the line of play is not, of itself, interference under this rule.”  However, if your ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if an abnormal ground condition on the green intervenes on your line of putt.

So, how should this NPOR be determined?

When your ball is on the fairway or the rough:

· Take your stance as if playing the shot and hold your club that you would use if the problem area was not there.

· Swing that club and determine the nearest point from where you could hit the ball without interference to your swing or stance by the problem area (not nearer hole, in hazard or on putting green).

· The point where a ball would lie in that swing is the NPOR. Now the one club length measurement can be measured from that point, with any club (usually your driver).

 For a right hander - no relief for ball A. There is no interference with your stance or your intended area of swing.

However ball B does suffer interference with stance and area of swing. As the 100 metre post is an immovable obstruction, relief is available under this rule. The yellow peg is the point which affords relief from the post, is not nearer the hole than B. The rule then allows you a drop within 1 club length of this spot (red tee). The area for legal drop would be a sector of a circle one club length from the yellow tee (eg. light green area).

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »