RULE: Provisional Ball 3

Opinions differ with members about the legality of hitting provisional balls when the player's ball cuts the corner of the hazard adjacent to #12 tee. I am trying to save a bit of time so I don't slow down the group - so can I hit provisional ball from the tee, or one from position A??

How many times have you seen it - the player slices his tee shot, and the ball rustles through the leaves on the corner of the hazard (yellow line). Because it is not possible from the tee to see 'around the corner and over the hill', we do not know whether the ball stayed in the hazard or made its way through to the cleared area on the hill (red line).

There still appears to be some confusion about hitting a provisional ball.

    1. Can I hit a provisional ball from the tee?

     2. Can I hit a ball from A (under Rule 26.1 water hazard) and call it a provisional ball just in case we walk up the hill and find my ball has made it through the trees?

ANSWERS:

Before any answer can be given, the definition of provisional ball is critical: "A 'provisional' ball is a ball played under Rule 27-2 for a ball that may be lost outside a water hazard or may be out of bounds."

1. If the player is certain that the ball is lost in the hazard, he cannot play a provisional ball from the tee. He must proceed under rule 26-1 "Relief for Ball in Water "Hazard.

2. There may be an outside chance the player's ball made it through the big trees and is "outside the water hazard". But the players will have to walk up the hill to search (see red line), in the forlorn hope it made it through! When it becomes obvious the ball is still in the hazard, the player has to walk back down the hill to point A (point of last crossing the margin of the hazard) and play a ball under Rule 26.1.

This is time consuming and the following group is right behind them, so to save some time, the player drops a ball at point A, calls it a provisional ball, hits it and then proceeds up the hill to check if his ball made it out.

The sentiment in so doing is admirable, but unfortunately, the "provisional ball" applies only to a ball lost outside a hazard or out of bounds. If he plays a ball from point A, this ball then becomes the ball in play (see Rule 20-4) as he has virtually declared that his ball is lost in the hazard.

After hitting the ball at A, he may still go forward and search the area for his tee shot, but if he finds it, it is too late to play it, as he has put another ball into play when he dropped at A. He has to grit his teeth, mutter something inappropriate under his breath and pick up the tee shot ball!

If he does hit the found tee shot claiming the "provisional ball" at A to be null and void, he has actually hit a wrong ball and Rule 15-3b becomes into effect (two stroke penalty or if fail to correct, disqualified!!) So have a look at 15-3b for the details!

Now a test.

Apply the same ruling to the 'power fade' into the hazard on Hole #4!!

Do I hit a provisional ball at B? Maybe my ball made it out to C!

  • 9 Dec 2017

    ALAN HORSFALL SHIELD

    The Nambour Vets conduct a season long aggregate stableford competition for the Alan Horsfall Shield.

    The winner amassed a total of 243 points. Who won, and by what margin?
     


    Read more »
  • 30 Nov 2017

    LADIES CHRISTMAS BREAKUP

     The Nambour ladies held their Annual Christmas Breakup party last Thursday 28th November.


    Read more »
  • 4 Nov 2017

    GREEN TEAM ON THE GO!

     The October rains were a fantastic and very welcome boost to our course, but not without presenting "the green team" some challenges.


    Read more »
  • 26 Oct 2017

    LADIES ELECT NEW COMMITTEE

    NGC Ladies held their Annnual General Meeting on Thursday 26 October.

    Gail Campling was again returned as President.

    Read on to see who else will be on the coming year's committee, and to read Gail's report for 2017.


    Read more »
  • 5 Oct 2017

    LADIES MONTHLY MEDAL

     Ladies held the final of their monthly medal competition.


    Read more »
  • 28 Sep 2017

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONS

    We were very unfortunate that it turned out to be a shockingly hot for our Foursomes Championships, so all 16 ladies are to be congratulated for persevering through to the 36th hole. Check out the winners.


    Read more »
  • 20 Sep 2017

    PRESIDENT'S UPDATE

     

    Dear Members,

     

    I hope you are all enjoying the sensational weather but the time has come where we need some rain. How good will the course be with 2 or 3 inches of rain?

     

    Well, "it's all happening" at Nambour Golf Club. We apologise for any inconvenience but I'm sure you would agree that it is all worth it.

     

    Here is an update on works recently completed and what else is happening around the place.


    Read more »
  • 19 Aug 2017

    MEN'S FOURSOMES

    The 2017 title of Champion Men's Foursomes was a runaway for two of our younger guns.


    Read more »
  • WHAT IS THE GREEN TEAM UP TO?

    Andy has some interesting work planned to be implemented over the month of July.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jun 2017

    JUNIOR EFFERVESCENCE

    I happened to catch Darrell's Junior Golfer squads as they topped off their regular Sunday clinic with a few holes of golf. It is so reassuring to see such dedication from Darrell, but this may be easy to reconcile when you see the joie de vivre, the energy and the great sense of fun displayed by his young charges. I snapped a photo late on Sunday arvo of one of his groups as they rolled on down #1! Have a look!


    Read more »