RULE: Preferred Lie

When wet weather changes our playing conditions, I guess we will be experiencing the playing of golf with the local rule “preferred lie”. Casual water, muddy patches, unmown areas, mud on your ball etc – this rule is necessary to take account of the abnormal playing conditions and make the game not only fairer, but somewhat more enjoyable. When such conditions are so general throughout the course, preferred lie is not only fairer but may also protect the course. How much do you know about using preferred lie? Do you know the answers to these questions?

How far can I 'legally' move my ball when preferred lie applies?
What if I place the ball, and then see a better spot?
What if the ball won’t stay where I am trying to place it?
What if it moves after I have placed it?
Which “length” of the card do I use?
May I take preferred lie on the green
Can I clean my ball when I lift it for preferred lie?
 

I know our Local Rule Board usually says – preferred lie through the green – one card length. But it is more specific than this in reality – see bold clues below.

“A ball lying through the green may be lifted, without penalty, and cleaned. Having lifted the ball, s/he must place it on a spot within one card length of and not nearer the hole than where it originally lay, that is not in a hazard and not on a putting green

The photo below illustrates where you may place the ball if preferred lie is invoked as a local rule at Nambour.

There are more conditions!! Other Rules of golf apply when you chose to prefer a lie.

A player may place his/her ball only once and it is in play once placed. (see rule 20 – 4)

If the ball will not stay put, and fails to come to rest on the spot where you are trying to place it, rule 20 – 3d says there is no penalty and allows you to replace it.

If the ball when placed comes to rest on the spot and then subsequently moves, there is no penalty and the ball must be played as it lies. Rule 20-3d

So you move your ball to a lovely lie on a tuft, reach into your bag for your club, and find your ball has rolled from the tuft and now sits in a hole in front of a weed. Ohh - bad luck! You have to now play it from there! 
However, if you have been deemed to have caused the ball to move, then rule 18 – 2 a and b say you incur a penalty of one stroke. You are deemed to have caused it to move if you or your equipment moves it, the ball moves when you remove a loose impediment or the ball moves after you have addressed it.

It is recommended that you mark the position of your ball before you lift it. If you move the ball in any other manner (eg drag the ball with your club, kick it with your feet, etc) you will incur a one stroke penalty.

So when the Local Rule board says “preferred lie” it also means all of the above, as they are part of the Rules of Golf! So choose your spot carefully when taking preferred lie!

Finally… what is a card length? Is it the long side of your card folded, or is it the long side of the open card?

(For our NGC card, the difference is 6 cm, or just over two inches). To be generous, the match committee deems your card to be open, so 21 cm. (How many inches is that??)

Now look at this photo—I hate putting a ball which lies on the green tight against the mowing ridge—so when preferred lie applies, can I move the ball from the green onto the fringe where it is easier??

Bad luck—the preferred lie local rule applies “through the green” only. Definitions tell us that this ruling does not include the ball in bunkers or water hazards, nor on the teeing ground or the green of the hole being played. Play it as it lies!

What about the other way—the ball lies on the fringe. If preferred lie is in play, can I move the ball onto the green, no nearer the hole?

No—read the local rule again—you can place the ball on a spot which is “not on a putting green”.

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »