RULE: Practice, practice, practice!

 It's a busy time of year with all types of championships being decided, both stroke and match play. This is a time when we all decide we need a bit more practice. So, when can we practice? Where is it NOT legal to practice. What are the penalties if we are in breach of this "practice" rule? 

 Practice on the course means playing a ball from anywhere or testing the surface of the putting green of any hole by rolling a ball or rubbing the surface.

1. BEFORE a ROUND

  • In MATCH PLAY, it is OK to practice before the round on the competition course on the day of play, or between rounds,  for any match play competition .
  • BUT - before a round on any day of a STROKE PLAY competition (stableford, par, bogey are forms of stroke play) a competitor MUST NOT practise on the competition course, or test the surface of any putting green on the course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.

The penalty for breaking this rule is

  • General penalty for first breach 
  • Disqualification for second breach!
(General penalty = 2 strokes)

2. But what about DURING a round?

You cannot make a practice stroke during the play of a hole.

(A practice swing is not a practice stroke, and may be taken at any place provided you do not breach any other rule eg practice in a bunker or penalty area.)

I thought I could have a practice putt after I have holed out?

Yes, you may (Rule 5.5) Between the play of two holes, you MUST NOT make a practice stroke except that you may practice putting or chipping on or near:

  •   the putting green of the hole you last played;
  •   any practice putting green; or
  •   the teeing ground for the next hole to be played in the round -   BUT not from any bunker, and you must not unreasonably delay   play.

What about if the hole has been decided already (eg loss in match, washout in stableford) - can I play on and finish the hole without penalty?

Yes as long as you are not unduly delaying play! (It is common, and it speeds up play in stableford to pick up if you can not score!) Strokes made in continuing the play of a hole, the result of which is already decided, are NOT practice strokes.

If you breach this part of the rule (during the round) penalty is loss of hole in match play, or two strokes in stroke play!

HOWEVER - be advised that some courses do NOT permit this type of practice - their committee has made a local rule prohibiting this, so remember to check the local rules of any course when you 'play away'! 

3 AFTER a ROUND.

Changes to the rule in 2019 under Rule 5.2b allows you to practice on the course after the final round of the day.  


  • 11 Sep 2021

    LADIES CANCER CHARITY DAY

    The Nambour Ladies’ Cancer Charity Day on Saturday 11th September was once again a great success. We had 166 players in the field & Andys’ pink ribbon on the 3rd fairway spurred us all on. We thank all the players who participated & Steve, Nigel & Kynan for getting us all away. Our sponsors were amazingly generous & are too numerous to mention but include Australian Garage Supermarket, Win Television, Twin Waters Golf Club, Noosa Springs Golf Club & Cafe Gingers.


    Read more »
  • VALE JIM LORD

    Vale: Jim Lord. Help celebrate Jim's life this Friday. Read on for details.


    Read more »
  • 3 Sep 2021

    LADIES CHAMPIONSHIPS

    The Nambour Ladies concluded their annual Championships on Thursday 2nd September after a 2 week delay caused by covid restrictions.

    Let's see who were winners. 


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2021

    WELCOME NEW SPONSOR

    Nambour Golf Club welcomes another new sponsor on board.


    Read more »
  • 26 Jun 2021

    MIXED FOURSOMES

    Rain, rain, go away - and it stayed away until all 12 pairs had completed their rounds of this year's Championships sponsored by Del Scott.

    Who prevailed, and who picked up the other prizes? 


    Read more »
  • 9 Jun 2021

    SUPERINTENDENT ACES

    You would think that the Greens Superintendent would have had a number of aces, as he knows every little feature of our greens, and where the hole has been placed for the day. But Andy was truly excited about this ace.


    Read more »
  • 8 May 2021

    Viv's First Ace

    Viv Lawson had his first Ace at Nambour Golf Club.


    Read more »
  • 27 Apr 2021

    GRAB A BITE TO EAT


    Read more »
  • 8 Dec 2020

    LADIES GOLF BREAKUP

    Nambour Ladies Christmas breakup was held on Thursday 26th November. Entertainment provided by Gail & Jo. Never easy with a tough crowd. Congratulations to all the winners. New member Kristine Dinnerville won Best Handicap Reduction, 9 shots this year, well done Kristine. Merry Christmas to all our ladies & members.

    Read on to see photos of the frivolities 
    Gail Campling
    President
    Nambour Ladies Golf Club


    Read more »
  • 24 Oct 2020

    KEN J MARTIN ACES AGAIN

    No need for the putter in this hole, where Ken had his second ace!


    Read more »