RULE: Practice, practice, practice!

 It's a busy time of year with all types of championships being decided, both stroke and match play. This is a time when we all decide we need a bit more practice. So, when can we practice? Where is it NOT legal to practice. What are the penalties if we are in breach of this "practice" rule? 

 Practice on the course means playing a ball from anywhere or testing the surface of the putting green of any hole by rolling a ball or rubbing the surface.

1. BEFORE a ROUND

  • In MATCH PLAY, it is OK to practice before the round on the competition course on the day of play, or between rounds,  for any match play competition .
  • BUT - before a round on any day of a STROKE PLAY competition (stableford, par, bogey are forms of stroke play) a competitor MUST NOT practise on the competition course, or test the surface of any putting green on the course by rolling a ball or roughening or scraping the surface.

The penalty for breaking this rule is

  • General penalty for first breach 
  • Disqualification for second breach!
(General penalty = 2 strokes)

2. But what about DURING a round?

You cannot make a practice stroke during the play of a hole.

(A practice swing is not a practice stroke, and may be taken at any place provided you do not breach any other rule eg practice in a bunker or penalty area.)

I thought I could have a practice putt after I have holed out?

Yes, you may (Rule 5.5) Between the play of two holes, you MUST NOT make a practice stroke except that you may practice putting or chipping on or near:

  •   the putting green of the hole you last played;
  •   any practice putting green; or
  •   the teeing ground for the next hole to be played in the round -   BUT not from any bunker, and you must not unreasonably delay   play.

What about if the hole has been decided already (eg loss in match, washout in stableford) - can I play on and finish the hole without penalty?

Yes as long as you are not unduly delaying play! (It is common, and it speeds up play in stableford to pick up if you can not score!) Strokes made in continuing the play of a hole, the result of which is already decided, are NOT practice strokes.

If you breach this part of the rule (during the round) penalty is loss of hole in match play, or two strokes in stroke play!

HOWEVER - be advised that some courses do NOT permit this type of practice - their committee has made a local rule prohibiting this, so remember to check the local rules of any course when you 'play away'! 

3 AFTER a ROUND.

Changes to the rule in 2019 under Rule 5.2b allows you to practice on the course after the final round of the day.  


  • 28 Feb 2020

    BEER DAMAGES MOWERS

    Charles has been finding these little blighters around our course. Might bring pleasure to players, but not good for our mowers!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »