RULE: Plugged ball

When the course is wet, my high approach shot plugged into the ground short of the green.
Even when the course is dry, the slope in front of the watered green occasionally sees my ball plug.

Boy, this is unfair - how can I hit a plugged ball? What do the rules allow me to do?Don't despair - the Rules have recognised this problem (sort of!)

Rule 16.3a Embedded Ball says, "Relief is allowed only when your ball is embedded in the general area." Fair enough, so it should be. But what is the general area?

The general area is defined as the area of the course that covers all of the course except for:

  • the teeing area of the hole you are playing
  • all penalty areas
  • all bunkers, and
  • the putting green of the hole you are playing.


 That means, if your ball plugs off the fairway, or the secondary rough around the green, you are entitled to the same relief - ie lift, clean and drop without penalty.

A common incidence here is plugging into the slopes or banks around greens, like #10 or #18 for example.

Have a look at this image where my ball has plugged into the bank behind #18 green (being long on 18 is better than being short!!!)

Where exactly is the relief area so I can drop my ball correctly, without ball not rolling nearer the hole, onto the green, or rolling out of the relief area?

Well Rule 14.3 describes clearly how and where to drop a ball. Rule 16.3b tells you how you can take free relief when your ball is embedded in the general area.You can take relief from this situation, dropping the ball without penalty as near as possible to the spot where it is plugged. See Diagram 16.3b for determining the extent of the relief area for a free drop in this case. 

If your ball (amongst other things) rolls onto the putting green, or rolls out of the relief area, or rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole - then you must redrop. Go back to look at Rule 14.3c  If your second re-drop still 'offends', then you can place the ball on the spot the second re-drop strikes the ground in the relief area. So in this case you will obtain relief without penalty from the ball being embedded, but you will still have to negotiate a tricky shot from the sloping bank!

PS: Don't forget to fill your embedded ball hole when you finish the shot. If another player's ball rolls into your pitch mark, there is NO free relief for that player. The rule clearly says "a ball embedded in its own pitch mark" .

  • 6 May 2020

    STEVE DOES IT AGAIN

    Steve Dowsett is making this a habit, having another Hole in One.


    Read more »
  • 20 Aug 2020

    A STEP UP

    Our volunteer maintenance and construction team have been applying their skills, to make the course safer!


    Read more »
  • 31 Jul 2020

    GREENS REPORT

    Andy and the boys have been busy - read on to find out how they are managing the course for us to play on.


    Read more »
  • 16 Jul 2020

    HOW MANY MEMBERS?

    One question regularly heard around the clubhouse is, "How many members do we have now?" Steve has been maintaining such stats for many years now, so cast your eyes over these figures and see how many of your answers can be gleaned from these figures! 


    Read more »
  • 15 Jul 2020

    PLAY GOLF UNDER COVID RULES

    YES, we can still play golf. However, there are still also RULES under Covid 19 restrictions to adhere to, to ensure we do not foul the law and lose this privilege!

    Read the Club Statement outlining these procedures we need to follow! 


    Read more »
  • 6 May 2020

    RARITY LATELY

    The Hole in One frequency has dropped significantly this year - surely nothing to do with Covid 19!

    But Steve Dowsett has managed (another) one - when, which hole? Read on for those details!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »