RULE: Plugged ball

When the course is wet, my high approach shot plugged into the ground short of the green.
Even when the course is dry, the slope in front of the watered green occasionally sees my ball plug.

Boy, this is unfair - how can I hit a plugged ball? What do the rules allow me to do?Don't despair - the Rules have recognised this problem (sort of!)

Rule 25-2 Embedded Ball says, "A ball embedded in its own pitch mark in the ground in any closely mown  area through the green may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. Closely mown area means any area of the course cut to fairway height or less."

The club recognises that our terrain increases the likely hood of a ball plugging, so has amended Rule 25-2 to anywhere through the green, not just closely mown areas. That means, if your ball plugs off the fairway, or the secondary rough around the green, you are entitled to the same relief - ie lift, clean and drop without penalty.

A common incidence here is plugging into the slopes or banks around greens, like #10 or #18 for example.

Have a look at this image where my ball has plugged into the bank behind #18 green (being long on 18 is better than being short!!!)

What chance do I have of dropping the ball as near as possible to 'the spot', and the ball not rolling nearer the hole, onto the green, or rolling more than the two club lengths allowable?

Well Rule 20 helps . You can take relief from this situation, dropping the ball without penalty as near as possible to the spot where it is plugged. If your ball (amongst other things) rolls onto the putting green, or rolls more than 2 club lengths from where it first struck the ground, or rolls and comes to rest nearer the hole - then you must redrop. If your second re-drop still 'offends', then you can place the ball on the spot the second re-drop strikes the ground. So in this case you will obtain relief without penalty from the ball being embedded, but you will still have to negotiate a tricky shot from the sloping bank!

For a fuller description of 'dropping the ball' click here.

PS: Don't forget to fill your embedded ball hole when you finish the shot. If another player's ball rolls into your pitch mark, there is NO free relief for that player. The rule clearly says "a ball embedded in its own pitch mark" .

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »