RULE: Over the Fence & Out

Over the fence in backyard cricket is six and out! But what about in GOLF?? When is my ball OB? What options do I have if my ball MIGHT be OB? 

Firstly, at NGC, out of bounds is defined by white stakes, or white fence posts. "When defined by stakes or a fence, the boundary edge is defined by the line between the course-side points of the fence posts or stakes at ground level (excluding angled supports), and those stakes and fence posts are out of bounds." (Definitions)

When is my ball actually out of bounds? "Your ball at rest is out of bounds only when all of it is out of bounds." (Rule 18.2a)

In the photo which of the balls A, B or C are OB? 

Only ball C lies out of bounds, since all of it is OB. My luck is in with ball B as part of the ball is still in bounds.

O.K. so my ball at A and B are still in play. But the fence posts and wires are in my way.

Can I obtain relief from these made made, artificial objects? Are they obstructions?

An obstruction "is any artificial object except for integral objects and boundary objects." So, no to obtaining any free relief. (You could declare your ball unplayable and take relief with penalty - check out Rule 19 for your options.)

O.K. - I can wear that, after all I hit the ball there!

But can I stand on the OB side of the fence to hit my ball?

Yes, "A player may stand out of bounds to play a ball lying within bounds." Good luck with this shot!

So my ball was really ball C, out of bounds. Now what do I do? Can I drop a ball there within 1 or 2 clublengths of C?

NO - NOT LIKELY!Rule 18.2b says, "If a ball is lost or out of bounds, you must take stroke-and-distance relief by adding one penalty stroke and playing a ball from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6).

There is much more about out of bounds - provisional ball, time allowed for a search, what to do when your ball is OB, can I tee my ball if the original shot was from the tee ... read all about it in Rule 18.

 

  • 14 Oct 2020

    A FIRST FOR DICK

    Dick Costello has scored his first hole in one - what a thrill that would have been. 


    Read more »
  • 14 Oct 2020

    ROSCO BUYS BEERS

    Ross Jackson was so pleased with himself on Wednesday (14/10) that he started buying beers for any other players who came into the clubhouse. How do you get that pleased?


    Read more »
  • 9 Oct 2020

    Mike Peall Hole in One

    Mike Peal doesn't stay out of action for long - even with a huge number of stitches in his leg. He showed me the wound from a sharp stick spiking his shin and peeling back the skin  - painful! Golf is dangerous!

    But the next golf day he holed out again! He had his last/previous hole in one November 2019.


    Read more »
  • 28 Aug 2020

    ACE EASES PAINE

    Ian Paine holed out on one of our par threes recently - which one? And how did he celebrate?


    Read more »