RULE: Movable Obstruction in Penalty Area!

 We have discussed in previous articles your ball or swing impeded by an IMMOVABLE obstruction in a penalty area (bridge, log , grate, etc.), or relief from movable obstructions in the general area.

But what is the ruling when my ball lies next to a MOVABLE obstruction in a PENALTY AREA? Is it the same ruling as before? Or can a different ruling be applied?

Have a look at this image taken in the penalty area between #3 and #4 (yes - I have been there too, from both sides!) My ball is definitely in the penalty area, but the polypipe adjacent to my ball interferes with my shot. It is attached and fixed to a submerged pipe behind me. But the end near my ball can easily be moved. Hmm - movable obstruction, penalty area. How do you rule?

  Rule 15 says that free relief is allowed from interference by movable obstructions. "You may remove a movable obstruction without penalty anywhere on or off the course and may do so in any way."

 This section of Rule 15 makes no reference to which part of the course your ball lies in - no condition about whether it lies in the general area, in a penalty area, in a bunker, on the green. It doesn't matter where on the course your ball lies - you may take relief from a MOVABLE obstruction.

 So I can move this pipe away from my ball so I can have a swipe at it! If the ball moves, it must be replaced on the original spot (no penalty, unless you don't replace it.) And guess what - you may, under this rule, CLEAN the BALL before replacing it! And yes, you may ground your club too. Wow, sometimes the rules are good to me!

See the rock near my ball? Can I move it too? YES - Rule 15.1 is a great change from our old rules. "You may remove a loose impediment without penalty anywhere on or off the course, and may do so in any way (such as using your hand or foot or a club or other equipment" 

Now have a look at this next picture, taken in the penalty area between 3 and 4. Here is another pipe which is not attached at one end, near my ball, and easily can be moved. There are palm fronds all about, and would interfere with my stance and/or my swing.

Now here is your test - how would you rule? I am brave enough to have a go at hitting my ball through the gap you can see in front of me, but the pipe is in my way. Can I move my ball? Can I get relief from the pipe by moving it? What about the fronds - can I get them out of the way so I can swing and/or stand properly?  

 

 

  • 23 Jan 2019

    GOLFERS on FIRE

    Two of our senior golfers are on fire, and this has nothing to do with the current high temperatures!

    - one man has won Mug of Mugs, and a lady member took out the Medal of Medals

    - the other man shot his age!

    You will have to read on to get the details! 


    Read more »
  • 22 Jan 2019

    GREEN TEAM UPDATE

    Greens Renovations are coming up. What is the schedule of work?


    Read more »
  • 15 Dec 2018

    NEW RULE UPDATE

    The R & A new rules come into effect on January 1 next year. There is provision for the Club to introduce some local rules based on the new rules. The Club's new rules sub-committee has reviewed these local rules.


    Read more »
  • GOOD WORDS, BAD SHOTS


    Eskimos , allegedly, have 40 different words for snow. But GOLF has more than that number of colourful words for BAD SHOTS. But we have almost nothing for GOOD SHOTS. Inanely, Good Shot/ Great Shot is about the best we can do.

    Maybe it has something to do with the fact we hit many more bad shots than good ones??

    Read on for a list of words/expressions we use for poor shots - how many have you used? Do you have any others? (Profane words have not been included - probably not enough room on the web page.


    Read more »
  • WHO IS COUNTING?

    Popular and respected Club Patron Joan Grace celebrated her birthday recently, somewhere about the 21 year mark. 

    Ladies helped her celebrate the milestone day while they were holding their Christmas breakup at the end of November. (Photo attached - read on).


    Read more »
  • LADIES KNOW HOW TO CELEBRATE

    The Nambour Ladies had their Christmas Breakup last Thursday 29th.

    ow did they celebrate their golfing year at NGC?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 13 Feb 2019

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.
    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »