RULE: Movable or Immovable Obstruction?

What's the difference between movable and immovable? What is the status of the stakes and ropes, directional signs and hoops around the course?

Have a look at the illustration and tell me!

Now you tell me - are these hoops and signs that direct cart traffic around the course movable or immovable? Obviously I can move them - but am I permitted to do so under the rules? Can I obtain any relief from these if my ball is A, B, or C?

A does not interfere with my line of play, my stance or swing - but it does psychologically! B is on my line of play, but I could chip over it and onto the green. But C I reckon it interferes on all three counts - line of play, stance & swing and psychologically! (I'm a real mess!)

What does the rule book say?

Firstly Definitions in the new Rule Book defines "obstruction" as "any artificial object except for integral objects and boundary objects."

But when is it movable? Can you accept assistance to move an obstruction that one person alone could not move??

The rules tell us a movable obstruction is "an obstruction that can be moved without unreasonable effort and without damaging the obstruction or the course."

And the rules define immovable obstruction as "any obstruction that cannot be moved without unreasonable effort or without damaging the obstruction or the course, and otherwise does not meet the definition of a movable obstruction."

Note however, the Committee may make a local rule declaring a movable obstruction to be an immovable obstruction.

Well, what about these ropes, hoops and signs? To eliminate any confusion, our local rules printed on the score card make it clear:

  • that the temporary posts and ropes, are IMMOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS.
  • but the hoops and cart signs are MOVABLE OBSTRUCTIONS

So after all that ..... RULE 16 - Relief from Immovable Obstructions informs us. You can get free relief from these immovable obstructions, the stakes and ropes.   

It does not matter which ball is yours (A, B or C) - movable obstructions can be moved. (There is an exception here under Rule 11.3 - when your ball is in motion, you cannot move or lift any movable obstruction to affect where that ball, whether yours or another player's ball might come to rest).

There are conditions re area of swing, stance, and line of play; but there is no such thing in the rules of golf as psychological influence for immovable obstructions - don't try that defence for seeking free relief from the immovable obstruction! Check out Rule 16.1a for when relief is allowed - the accompanying diagrams are instructional!

  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »
  • 7 Oct 2019

    CANCER CHARITY DAY

    Nambour Ladies ran a fund raising event recently in support of finding a cure for cancer .


    Read more »
  • 3 Oct 2019

    LADIES MONTHLY MEDAL FINAL

    Who were the winners in the Ladies' Monthly Medal Finals?


    Read more »
  • 30 Sep 2019

    DISTRICT AMBROSE CHAMPIONSHIP

    A 12 man Vets squad that travelled to Tin Can Bay on Friday 4th October to represent Nambour GC at the District 4 person Ambrose Championship

    Who was in the team? How did we go? Check this out!


    Read more »
  • 26 Sep 2019

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIPS

    The Nambour Ladies held their 27 hole Foursomes Championships on Thursday 26th September. The field moved incredibly quickly with everyone in by 1.30pm. Thanks to Steve & Kynan for doing the board & calculating the results. Keep reading for the results and winners are grinners photos!



    Read more »