RULE: Handicap on your card

 Whose responsibility is it to ensure our card records the correct handicap?

What happens if it is the wrong handicap?

It has been unfortunate that some who returned a card with no handicap entered have been disqualified. While it is the player’s responsibility to ensure the correct handicap is on the card, having it printed on our card for us has made us lazy, as there has been the expectation from continued practice that the ‘machine’ would print it for us.
But the rule remains - it is our responsibility to ensure our correct handicap is on our card!
I guess the new technology has made us lazy. When our ‘new’ computerized timesheet system added card printing at the golfshop, we got used to our GolfLink handicap being printed on the card for us. Occasionally, when the printer had a ‘spackattack’, your handicap may have been omitted.

Rule 3.3b states: "You are responsible for making sure your handicap is shown on your score card. If you return a scorecard without the right handicap:

 

  • if the handicap on your scorecard is too high and this affects the number of strokes you get, or no handicap is shown, you are disqualified from the handicap competition;
  • if the handicap on your scorecard is too low, there is no penalty and your score strands using the lower handicap. "

 


  • 6 May 2020

    RARITY LATELY

    The Hole in One frequency has dropped significantly this year - surely nothing to do with Covid 19!

    But Steve Dowsett has managed (another) one - when, which hole? Read on for those details!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »