RULE: GUR on the green

I hit a great shot onto the green - but now I may be punished because of a bare patch on the green between my ball and the hole. Surely I don't have to putt across that??

With the difficult seasons we sometimes experience, we occasionally have a couple of greens with some bare patches on them.

Consider these two balls on or near the green on # 7 – for which ones am I entitled to relief from the abnormal course condition, if any??

Before deciding, I need to know what “abnormal course condition” is. 

The Definitions tell us that an “abnormal course condition” is an animal hole, ground under repair, an immovable obstruction, or temporary water.

Rule 16  Interference exists

-  when my ball touches or is in or on an abnormal condition, or
-  when the abnormal course condition physically interferes with my swing or stance.
-  However, ONLY when my ball lies on the putting green, interference also occurs if the abnormal course condition on or off the putting green intervenes on my line of play.

(Otherwise, anywhere else intervention on the line of play is not of itself interference under this rule.)

Ball A: Even though the “GUR” (white lines) intervenes on my line of putt, my ball is not on the green, so I am NOT entitled to any relief.

Ball B: Now the GUR intervenes on my line, and my ball is on the green, so I am entitled to relief if I wish.

LOOK AT THE PHOTO ON THE LEFT: NOW this patch is NOT MARKED GUR nor listed on the daily local rules board. This bare patch intervenes on my line of putt, my ball at B is on the green but the only relief I can get is to curse my bad luck!!

OK, back to photo number one, where the GUR is marked. My ball is Ball B, and I can take relief. Where and how do I obtain relief?

Rule 16.1d tells me I must lift the ball and place it, without penalty, at the nearest point of relief (not in a penalty area) but not nearer the hole. The nearest point of complete relief or maximum available relief may be off the putting green! This event is more likely to occur when we are faced with temporary water on the green.(See diagram 16.1d in the Player's Edition of the Rules of Golf.

Now have a look at this photo below - using the information from the rules above, decide if you can obtain any relief in this situation.

  • 16 Feb 2020

    MyGolf Pre Qld Open for Juniors

    Our Juniors competed at Pelican Waters in the Queensland Junior Open prelude. Read on for details and photos supplied by Darrell.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »
  • 7 Oct 2019

    CANCER CHARITY DAY

    Nambour Ladies ran a fund raising event recently in support of finding a cure for cancer .


    Read more »