RULE: BUNKER BLUES

His Veteran golfer mate said, "Touch the sand in the bunker with your club as you remove the rake and I will penalise you two strokes". Now we know the  Vet golfer knows everything abut the rules, so he must be right, right???

Well, he could be playing Vets Rules - let's see what the Royal and Ancient has to say in the Rules of Golf.

Richard told me if you use your club to ‘pick up’ the rake from a bunker before playing your bunker shot, and touch the sand, that’s a two stroke penalty. He was advised by his mate that this  constitutes “testing  the condition of the bunker”.  

Definitions calls a bunker or a water hazard a “hazard

Rule 13 BALL PLAYED AS IT LIES  says that before you make a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (bunker or water hazard), you must not test the condition of the hazard; you must not touch the ground in a hazard or water  in a water hazard with your hand or a club; nor can you touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touch a hazard.

So Richard’s mate is right so far. But wait – there’s more!

The Rule 13 goes on to list some exceptions to the preceding!

Providing nothing is done that could constitute testing the condition of the hazard, or improves the lie of the ball in the hazard, there is NO PENALTY if you touch the ground or loose impediment in the hazard while removing an obstruction! The rake left in the hazard is a movable obstruction!

These exceptions also negate the two stroke penalty if you touch the ground in the hazard as a result of or to prevent yourself falling (as you get older, this is not only possible but probable!!), or in measuring or marking the position of , lifting or replacing  your ball in a hazard as permitted under any rule. AND you may place your clubs in a hazard before playing the shot! SWEET!

Interestingly, the exceptions go on to say that you can, at any time, smooth the sand or soil in a hazard PROVIDED this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course AND nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2: improving your lie, area of intended stance or swing, or your line of play for your next stroke.

That part of the rule is open to interpretation (especially by your titchy opponent) and I reckon a bit risky a habit to cultivate. Be safe, not sorry!

RULE 13 has some other interesting exceptions – why not read them and dazzle your titchy mate!

  • TREEMENDOUS

    When my golfing is letting me down, I compensate somewhat by being aware of and enjoying the natural beauty of our golf course environment.

    Anthony Everingham must too, as he has snapped the beauty of these grey gums changing their "outer clothing" to expose their beautiful, new and radiant bark. "Look on my works ye mighty and despair" 


    Read more »
  • WHO IS COUNTING?

    Popular and respected Club Patron Joan Grace celebrated he birthday recently, somewhere about the 21 year mark. 

    Ladies helped her celebrate the milestone day while they were holding their Christmas breakup at the end of November. (Photo attached - read on).


    Read more »
  • LADIES KNOW HOW TO CELEBRATE

    The Nambour Ladies had their Christmas Breakup last Thursday 29th.

    ow did they celebrate their golfing year at NGC?


    Read more »
  • 30 Nov 2018

    LADIES ELECT NEW COMMITTEE

    NGC Ladies recently held their AGM, to receive reports and to elect the Ladies Committee for the coming year.


    Read more »
  • HOLE IN ONE

    Hope springs eternal, and now his wish has come to fruition for Kim - read on to see what he just achieved!


    Read more »
  • WORKING BEE

    It looks a lot cleaner in the “Everglades” between the 3rd and 4th fairways since a team of nearly a dozen volunteers cleaned it out during our latest “working bee”.

    Thanks to all those involved in all the working bees throughout the year – it really makes a difference.

    Check out the photos of these appropriately attired Everglade  magicians! Thanks Charles for the story and these images of our willing workers.


    Read more »
  • ANDY PLANS

    Andy and the team plan to attack the carpet grass in some of our greens. How will they do this, and how long before we see the effect?

    For this and other interesting plans the team has, check out Andy's report. 


    Read more »
  • 22 Oct 2018

    NAMBOUR OPEN WINNERS

    A violent storm-shortened event took the gloss of an otherwise brilliant weekend of golf, showcasing some of the region's best golfers.

    To check out who were the successful players, with all the results listed, read on. 

    Go to Gallery  for images of some of the players in action! 


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »