RULE: BUNKER BLUES

His Veteran golfer mate said, "Touch the sand in the bunker with your club as you remove the rake and I will penalise you two strokes". Now we know the  Vet golfer knows everything abut the rules, so he must be right, right???

Well, he could be playing Vets Rules - let's see what the Royal and Ancient has to say in the Rules of Golf.

Richard told me if you use your club to ‘pick up’ the rake from a bunker before playing your bunker shot, and touch the sand, that’s a two stroke penalty. He was advised by his mate that this  constitutes “testing  the condition of the bunker”.  

Definitions calls a bunker or a water hazard a “hazard

Rule 13 BALL PLAYED AS IT LIES  says that before you make a stroke at a ball that is in a hazard (bunker or water hazard), you must not test the condition of the hazard; you must not touch the ground in a hazard or water  in a water hazard with your hand or a club; nor can you touch or move a loose impediment lying in or touch a hazard.

So Richard’s mate is right so far. But wait – there’s more!

The Rule 13 goes on to list some exceptions to the preceding!

Providing nothing is done that could constitute testing the condition of the hazard, or improves the lie of the ball in the hazard, there is NO PENALTY if you touch the ground or loose impediment in the hazard while removing an obstruction! The rake left in the hazard is a movable obstruction!

These exceptions also negate the two stroke penalty if you touch the ground in the hazard as a result of or to prevent yourself falling (as you get older, this is not only possible but probable!!), or in measuring or marking the position of , lifting or replacing  your ball in a hazard as permitted under any rule. AND you may place your clubs in a hazard before playing the shot! SWEET!

Interestingly, the exceptions go on to say that you can, at any time, smooth the sand or soil in a hazard PROVIDED this is for the sole purpose of caring for the course AND nothing is done to breach Rule 13-2: improving your lie, area of intended stance or swing, or your line of play for your next stroke.

That part of the rule is open to interpretation (especially by your titchy opponent) and I reckon a bit risky a habit to cultivate. Be safe, not sorry!

RULE 13 has some other interesting exceptions – why not read them and dazzle your titchy mate!

  • 10 Aug 2018

    LADY CHAMPIONS

    The NGC Lady Champions have been decided. Check out these winners!


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »
  • 2 Apr 2018

    JAKE WINS AGAIN!

    Our own Jake Crowther is like a terrier when it comes to play off for a major event. And he has done it again!


    Read more »