RULE: Ball lost in GUR??

Following on from last month’s rule discussion about “abnormal ground conditions”, what is the procedure if you think your ball is lost in the GUR?

For example if you slice your ball on hole #5 towards the overflow area on the right hand side, in front of the dam where the mowers have been unable to do their job and you cannot find your ball, what do you do?

Rule 25 raises the question of whether your ball which is unable to be found has actually been lost in the GUR or lost outside it. Usually, because of the hill between you and the green for your second shot, you are not able to see the finishing point for your ball. So, are you sure it went into the marked GUR area, or it is lost somewhere else, eg in the grass on the bank in front of the area?

In order to apply this rule it must be known, or virtually certain that the ball is in the abnormal ground condition (GUR). In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, you must proceed under Rule 27 (Lost Ball).

If you do not see your ball finish in the GUR (and none of your playing partners see it), to obtain free relief under this rule 25, you will need to present a case for the ball being there. How do you do that?

If the area around the GUR is well mown, and any ball lying outside the GUR would easily be seen, then it may be reasonable to assume that it is “virtually certain” your ball is in the only other place, the GUR. (Ball flight A)

However, if the line of flight of the ball is over the long grass through the green in front of this GUR, then maybe your ball is lost there, or maybe it did make it to the GUR. (See ball flight B). But if you do not know nor can you be certain where the ball finished, then your ball is deemed lost and Rule 27 applies (stroke and distance).

OK, you are certain your ball is lost in the GUR (and your marker concurs!), then you are able to take relief. The spot where you believe the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the abnormal ground conditions must be determined. For the purpose of applying this rule, the ball is deemed to lie at this spot. In this case (through the green), you may substitute a ball without penalty and drop this ball within one club length and not nearer the hole than this point of relief. When dropped, the ball must first strike a part of the course that avoids interference from the GUR (and is not in a hazard or on the putting green)

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »