RULE: Ball lost in GROUND UNDER REPAIR??

Following on from the previous rule discussion about “abnormal course conditions”, what is the procedure if you think your ball is lost in the GUR?

For example if you slice your ball on hole #5 towards the overflow area on the right hand side, in front of the dam where the mowers have been unable to do their job and you cannot find your ball, what do you do?

Rule 16.1e makes reference to "your ball being not found and it is known or virtually certain that your ball came to rest in or on the abnormal course condition." The question for you to answer then,'Is my ball lost in the GUR or lost outside it?'

Usually, because of the hill between you and the green for your second shot, you are not able to see the finishing point for your ball. So, are you sure it went into the marked GUR area, or it is lost somewhere else, eg in the grass on the bank in front of the area?

In order to apply this rule it must be known, or virtually certain that the ball is in the abnormal ground condition (GUR). In the absence of such knowledge or certainty, you must proceed under Rule 18 (Lost Ball).

If you do not see your ball finish in the GUR (and none of your playing partners see it), to obtain free relief under this Rule 16, you will need to present a case for the ball being there. How do you do that?

If the area around the GUR is well mown, and any ball lying outside the GUR would easily be seen, then it may be reasonable to assume that it is “virtually certain” your ball is in the only other place, the GUR. (Ball flight A)

However, if the line of flight of the ball is over the long grass through the green in front of this GUR, then maybe your ball is lost there, or maybe it did make it to the GUR. (See ball flight B). But if you do not know nor can you be certain where the ball finished, then your ball is deemed lost and Rule 18 applies (stroke and distance).

OK, you are certain your ball is lost in the GUR (and your marker concurs!), then you are able to take free relief under Rule 16.1e. The spot where you believe the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the abnormal ground conditions must be determined. For the purpose of applying this rule, the ball is deemed to lie at this spot. In this case (general area), you may substitute a ball without penalty and drop this ball within the relief area and not nearer the hole than this reference point. When dropped, the ball must first strike the relief area and remain in the relief area (and is not in a penalty area or on the putting green).

  • 6 May 2020

    RARITY LATELY

    The Hole in One frequency has dropped significantly this year - surely nothing to do with Covid 19!

    But Steve Dowsett has managed (another) one - when, which hole? Read on for those details!


    Read more »
  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »