RULE: Assisting/interfering with play

Hey, leave your ball there beside the pin - it might stop my chip going too far. 

Your ball is really close to mine on the fairway. I might hit it too - can you mark it on the fairway?

Rule 15 deals with these situations.

  • My ball is lying quite close to the pin. I go to mark it, but a fellow player asks me to leave it there as a backstop - it may help his chip shot from off the green. What do I do?

I agree to leave it there. If you do you are both penalised ! In stroke play, competitors who have agreed not to lift a ball that might assist any competitor, they are penalised 2 strokes each (Rule 15.3a)

  • Both our balls are lying really close together on the fairway, so close that his ball interferes with my swing (or my stance). What can I do that is fair for both of us?

If a player considers that another ball might interfere with his play, he may have it lifted. Of course the position of the lifted ball must be marked. A ball lifted under this rule must be replaced (Rule 9.4b) exactly as it was before lifting. (Hold it between thumb and finger without rotating the ball.) The ball must not be cleaned unless it lies on the putting green.

Naturally, a player required to mark his ball may choose to play first (in stroke play) instead of marking the ball.

In the general area, you cannot lift your ball solely because you think it might interfere with the play of another player. If you lift our ball without being asked to do so, you incur a one stroke penalty for a breach of Rule 15.3b.

  • 12 Feb 2020

    PEALL PEELS OFF ANOTHER ONE

    Mike Peall has reeled off another great round, but what is so special about it?


    Read more »
  • 20 Feb 2020

    WARNING - DANGER

    The walkway between the 3rd green and 4th hole is closed until further notice. Use the cart path. We believe the path is in National Parks boundary and hopefully we will get permission to repair the same. Also golfers be aware when entering the 4th hole as golfers may be teeing off the 4th.

    Thanks

    Steve


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    NO PIZZA FOR DANIEL

    Daniel, manager of Domino Pizza in Nambour, sponsors the Hole in One on hole #17.

    He just had an ace, but which hole? Did he win the pizza prize?


    Read more »
  • 17 Jan 2020

    GREAT SCOTT!

    Barry and Scott regularly play golf together. Just because Barry aced # 6 a week ago, Scott couldn't let that feat go without "anything you can do, ….." So Scott had a hole in one too.


    Read more »
  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »