RULE: Ahh - my ball has moved by itself!

You are holding the flagstick for a fellow competitor who is about to putt when your ball lying on a sloping section of the green about 4 metres away starts to roll and comes to rest 60cm away from its original position. What do you do?

Answer: There are two answers!

 

  1. If you have not marked and replaced your ball, you play the ball as it lies.  You do not replace it nor incur any penalty. This can be tough, if your ball is on a sloping part of the green and decides to move itself (probably more likely by wind or gravity). It has happened here eg on the front of say #13, or #15 green, and even rolled off the green and come to rest about 10 metres away! Lesson - get up and mark the ball asap!!
  1. But if you have marked and then replaced your ball BEFORE it moved, it must again be replaced on that original spot.

 

The above situation applies ONLY when your ball is ON THE GREEN.

Now consider the ruling when your ball is in the General Area. Rule 9, “Ball at Rest Moved”, covers cases where the ball is moved.  For a full description, see the Player's Edition of the Rules of Golf but the following are the main points.

If the ball is moved by an outside influence, then the ball is replaced without penalty.  Note that wind and water are not outside agencies.  Ducks are!  Well, what is an outside influence? See definition p. 144 of the Rules of Golf.

If the ball is moved by the player, his/her caddie or equipment, then the ball must be replaced and the player incurs a 1 stroke penalty. 

The exception to having to replace the ball is if the ball moves after the player has begun the stroke or the backward movement of the club for the stroke and the stroke is made.  There is still a 1 stroke penalty.

If in stroke play the ball  is moved by a fellow competitor, his/her caddie or equipment, the ball is replaced and there is no penalty.

If the ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, then the moved ball is replaced without penalty.

But, what if ...... ?  See Rule 9.4b, p. 54 of the Player's edition of Rules of Golf for the circumstances when there is no penalty if a player accidentally causes the ball to move.

  • 11 Jan 2020

    MORE ACES THAN TENNIS!

    Why is Barry grinning like a Cheshire cat? Guess he is another who has aced a hole - but when, and which one?


    Read more »
  • 15 Jan 2020

    WHY JOIN THE VETS?

    As a member of this Golf Club, you are also invited to join the Vets for only a nominal fee. So why should I do that? How do I qualify?


    Read more »
  • 8 Jan 2020

    ANOTHER ACE PLAYER

    After a long period this year of nothing, suddenly it is fashionable again to have an ace! PJ is the latest.


    Read more »
  • 6 Nov 2019

    NO DROUGHT OF ACES

    Some golfers NEVER get a hole in One. Some get a couple, like Terry, but this greedy/skilful bloke now has FIVE on my count. But more astonishing is that TWICE now, he has had two holes in one in the same week!


    Read more »
  • 27 Oct 2019

    NAMBOUR OPEN RESULTS plus PHOTOS

    Big fields both days, great golfers, so the cream has risen to the top and claimed some of the many wonderful prizes. Read on to see the list of winners.


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2019

    REPEAT OFFENDERS

    These two male members are at it again - both at the same spot on the course - not satisfied with just one go. For Greg, it his second time, and Kev clocked up his third. Keep this up and they may have trouble finding members to play with them.


    Read more »
  • 7 Oct 2019

    CANCER CHARITY DAY

    Nambour Ladies ran a fund raising event recently in support of finding a cure for cancer .


    Read more »
  • 3 Oct 2019

    LADIES MONTHLY MEDAL FINAL

    Who were the winners in the Ladies' Monthly Medal Finals?


    Read more »
  • 30 Sep 2019

    DISTRICT AMBROSE CHAMPIONSHIP

    A 12 man Vets squad that travelled to Tin Can Bay on Friday 4th October to represent Nambour GC at the District 4 person Ambrose Championship

    Who was in the team? How did we go? Check this out!


    Read more »
  • 26 Sep 2019

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIPS

    The Nambour Ladies held their 27 hole Foursomes Championships on Thursday 26th September. The field moved incredibly quickly with everyone in by 1.30pm. Thanks to Steve & Kynan for doing the board & calculating the results. Keep reading for the results and winners are grinners photos!



    Read more »