RULE: Ahh - I was disqualified

It was my fault as the marker, but the rules see it as Terry's blue as he signed for this incorrect card.

Have a look at this card which I completed for Terry as his marker. Yes, he did have 19 points on the front nine - all correct so he signed. We both had one point on hole #2, so the points allocated were correct, and tallied correctly for the first nine. But I was careless (some would say doddery) as I had  reversed the stroke scores (highlighted in red.) Terry had 5-1, and I had 4-1.

A small error you say. But the rules see it differently. Rule 6 tells us that the competitor (you) is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his/her score card (Rule 6-6b). Now that scores are entered hole-by-hole on the computer, errors on the card are more easily picked up. Because Terry's card showed 4-1 on #2, the computer flagged it as incorrect. It could have been 4-2, or maybe 5-1. A check of my score card showed that Terry actually had 5-1. Because he signed for a stroke score of 4, LESS than he actually had, he was disqualified under Rule 6-6d.

Conversely, if I had recorded 4-1, and he did have a four, the computer would have corrected his stableford scores, given him 4-2, increasing his first nine points to 20!

Also, if Terry had actually had a 4-2, and I wrote in a 5-2 (total points still 19), the computer would have adjusted his scores to 5-1, total 0nly 18. Because I recorded a score HIGHER than he actually had, that is punishment enough - no disqualification! 

The message (for me anyway) is to check both the stableford points AND the stroke score written down. I guess if we had added both the stableford and the stroke scores, as a check, I may have picked up my error.

PS - Terry and I are still friends. I concentrate a bit more when recording our scores!!! 

  • 10 Aug 2018

    LADY CHAMPIONS

    The NGC Lady Champions have been decided. Check out these winners!


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »
  • 2 Apr 2018

    JAKE WINS AGAIN!

    Our own Jake Crowther is like a terrier when it comes to play off for a major event. And he has done it again!


    Read more »