RULE: Ahh - I was disqualified

It was my fault as the marker, but the rules see it as Terry's blue as he signed for this incorrect card.

Have a look at this card which I completed for Terry as his marker. Yes, he did have 19 points on the front nine - all correct so he signed. We both had one point on hole #2, so the points allocated were correct, and tallied correctly for the first nine. But I was careless (some would say doddery) as I had  reversed the stroke scores (highlighted in red.) Terry had 5-1, and I had 4-1.

A small error you say. But the rules see it differently. Rule 6 tells us that the competitor (you) is responsible for the correctness of the score recorded for each hole on his/her score card (Rule 6-6b). Now that scores are entered hole-by-hole on the computer, errors on the card are more easily picked up. Because Terry's card showed 4-1 on #2, the computer flagged it as incorrect. It could have been 4-2, or maybe 5-1. A check of my score card showed that Terry actually had 5-1. Because he signed for a stroke score of 4, LESS than he actually had, he was disqualified under Rule 6-6d.

Conversely, if I had recorded 4-1, and he did have a four, the computer would have corrected his stableford scores, given him 4-2, increasing his first nine points to 20!

Also, if Terry had actually had a 4-2, and I wrote in a 5-2 (total points still 19), the computer would have adjusted his scores to 5-1, total 0nly 18. Because I recorded a score HIGHER than he actually had, that is punishment enough - no disqualification! 

The message (for me anyway) is to check both the stableford points AND the stroke score written down. I guess if we had added both the stableford and the stroke scores, as a check, I may have picked up my error.

PS - Terry and I are still friends. I concentrate a bit more when recording our scores!!! 

  • WHICH HOLE IS THIS?

    I have played from around here quite a few times - do you recognise this spot?


    Read more »
  • 11 Oct 2018

    LADIES FOURSOMES CHAMPIONSHIP

    Ladies have finalised this year's foursomes championships. 


    Read more »
  • 4 Oct 2018

    GREEN TEAM READY THE COURSE

    The Nambour Open is fast approaching, so Andy and his team are preparing the course for this signature event for our club. What are they up to?


    Read more »
  • PRESIDENT PETER PROBLEM SOLVES

    President Peter has returned from Canada (quality time with son Morgan), and surprised by field sizes.

     "I must say it’s great to be home, but where is everybody? Social players continue to rise however, for whatever reason, the number of members playing golf both socially and in competitions is well down."

     So Peter, Management Committee and Steve have done some tweaking to improve golfing numbers here.


    Read more »
  • 25 Sep 2018

    PLAY MORE GOLF

    Golf can be a life saver!! Research done by specialists say so. Who said? How does this work? Read all about this article which appeared in the Sunshine Coast Daily this day (25 September)


    Read more »
  • 24 Sep 2018

    RULES THAT MAKE SENSE!

    The Rules of Golf have been modernised, and made so much simpler to follow and adhere to. But they will become effective in January 2019. So now is the time to get your head around the changes, and familiarise yourself with them before they are introduced.

    Captain Cal has drawn up this summary sheet to guide you through the major changes - so pick up your new Rules of Golf book from the Captain's table and start now! 


    Read more »
  • 25 Jul 2018

    WINTER WORKS FOR GREEN TEAM

    Andy and the boys have worked hard over this month of winter under some trying circumstances


    Read more »
  • 21 Jul 2018

    MIXED FOURSOMES WINNERS

    What great weather to play golf, especially for the mixed foursomes - remember it was recently postponed due to rain.  So how did everyone fare?


    Read more »
  • 14 Jul 2018

    REPRESENTATIVE PLAYERS

    Congratulations to Jake Crowther and Sue Cahill. Both have been selected to represent our District Golf Association in the intercup challenge against Wide Bay District Golf this Sunday 15th July 2018 at Maryborough Golf Club. And Suzie has been named CAPTAIN of the District team!

    Your club is proud of your success, and wish you both  good golfing on Sunday.

    Details attached. 



    Read more »
  • LADIES PENNANT SUCCESS

    Ladies pennant season has now concluded, with some wonderful results. Which team was in the mix right to the vey end?


    Read more »